The Paper Sword

cover artRobert Priest’s novel The Paper Sword is a high fantasy. Like many high fantasies it has unique character names that are cool but impossible to pronounce, and sometimes difficult to keep track of.  It is written in formal, descriptive but distant narration, which I think is a shame because I prefer to get in a character’s head.

The maturity of the plot does not mesh well with the level of vocabulary. Preteens would find the text too dense but older teens would not care for the content.

This book just didn’t work for me. I had to force myself to keep reading. The writing style is too dry for my taste.

Leave a Reply

