Panic

cover art

 Lauren Oliver’s novel Panic didn’t give me the same goosebumps and late night pondering that her Delirium series did, but it was an enjoyable read. The game Panic that the book is named after is reckless, scary, and I hope entirely fictional. I find the premise of of Panic to be a bit unrealistic, and don’t think it gives young adults enough credit.

On the other hand, I enjoyed the variety and depth of characters in the story. I found myself wishing that the novel was in first person so I could get an even deeper look into them. Shifting perspective by chapter as she did (between Heather and Dodge) seemed odd when it was a 3rd person narrative.

Many issues are touched on in the novel, making it a good discussion starter…

  • Poverty
  • Alcoholism
  • Relationship drama
  • Revenge
  • Identity

It was exciting and suspenseful but I don’t think it’s as fantastic as Oliver’s previous writing.

Leave a Reply

