Miracleville

* I received Miracleville by Monique Polak as a submission for the YABA

This novel was clearly well-intentioned. It speaks to inclusiveness, involves an inter-faith couple, forgives past mistakes and has a positive representation of religion. I see the merits of such a book and I think turning a story of a tragedy into a feel good coming of age tale does take some doing.

That being said…. it just didn’t do it for me. The characters were over the top, the dialogue wasn’t natural enough and one plot point was very very icky.

It was a noble attempt that others will enjoy but I think my qualms with religion may have tainted my reading of it.

Leave a Reply

