Yellow Mini

*I received Yellow Mini by Lori Weber as a submission for YABA

This is the second novel in verse that I have read recently and it’s making me realize how much I miss writing poetry. I think a story in poems is a great idea, and the shifting perspectives keeps it interesting.

Yellow Mini did a wonderful job of portraying the challenges of being a teen by including the POV of male, female, popular, outcast, and parent. Annabelle and Christopher were the characters I connected with the most but Stacey, Mark, Mary and the parents were essential to the big picture. I think the book has more substance than I am capable of summarizing.

The characters are all very real. The plot is simple, but manages to encompass the high school experience pretty well.

Leave a Reply

