End of 2011 Survey

 

The End of the Year Book Survey is hosted by Jamie at Perpetual Page-Turner

1. Best Book You Read In 2011?

So many great books I’m going to go with categories and you can click on the titles for my reviews

YA contemporaryWill Grayson, Will Grayson.

Dystopian – A tie between Divergent and Delirium

Paranormal Red Glove by Holly Black

2. Most Disappointing Book/Book You Wish You Loved More Than You Did?

Leviathan – it’s so popular with young teen boys and I want to like more that they do so I can improve on how I promote reading to them. I just couldn’t get into it.

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2011?

Forever because I was disappointed with Linger and wasn’t sure if I still liked the series but I loved the 3rd book. 

4. Book you recommended to people most in 2011?

The Hunger Games I know it’s very popular but I’m not just jumping on the bandwagon. I think this book has wonderful social commentary everyone should read and that it will appeal to all sorts of people.

5. Best series you discovered in 2011?

This depends on how the other books go, but probably the ones starting with Divergent or The Gathering.

6. Favorite new authors you discovered in 2011?

Kenneth Oppel (actually got his autograph and talked to him for a second at a conference),  Lauren Oliver, John Green and David Levithan

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

What Is Real was out of my comfort zone because the narrator is on drugs. I found the book dizzying, and it was almost like being on drugs myself. I’m a little bit too much of a control freak to enjoy anything that messes with my judgment or makes me loose my tiny grip on reality so drugs have always made uncomfortable. I’m weird enough without them, and something about reading this book made me really uncomfortable. On the other hand it was really well written and I can see why others would enjoy it.

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2011?

Delerium or This Dark Endeavor

9. Book you most anticipated in 2011?

Red Glove and Wolfsbane. Both were pretty great. The fact that Holly Black tweeted about my review of red glove also made my year because I’m a huge fan.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2011?

11. Most memorable character in 2011?

Cassel Sharpe from Red Glove

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2011?

I can’t decide! I read so many books my favourite changes often. I just finished Escape Velocity and I think it was beautifully written, but there were many others.

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2011?

Libraries Got Game because I’m applying what I learned in it.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2011 to finally read?

City of Bones

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2011?

“My gripe is not with lovers of the truth but with truth herself. What succur, what consolation is there in truth, compared to a story? What good is truth, at midnight, in the dark, when the wind is roaring like a bear in the chimney? What you need are the plump comforts of a story, the soothing, rocking safety of a lie.” Thirteenth Tale
16. Book That You Read In 2011 That Would Be Most Likely To Reread In 2012?

The Terrible Plop or Hugless Douglas . Both Picture books because I can reuse them at storytime.

17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

Delirium

Thoughts

I know my blog has suffered a lot this year as other things needed to be a priority. I’m working more, reading things I’m not allowed aloud to blog about for the book award, I’ve moved cities 6 times in the last 5 years and I’m trying to finally set down some roots and make my condo the way I want it. In 2012 I won’t be blogging every day but when I do blog I hope to say things that matter.

2 thoughts on “End of 2011 Survey

Leave a Reply

