Winners and Rambles…

First off I want to congratulate Darlene from Darlene’s Book Nook for winning Goliath by Scott Westerfeld in my Canadian giveaway. Also congratulations to Paige Bradish for winning my American giveaway of Hooked by Catherine Greenman.

So now onto my rambles about why I haven’t been blogging of late and what’s to come.

I’m a Youth Services Librarian, which in my case has really meant a children’s librarian who advocates for and manages the teen area and programs in my “spare time” at the library and let’s face it my “free time” at home. This is still my title and I will be working in the same library system but I’m moving from being part-time in Salmon Arm (a cute rural community that consists primarily of seniors) to being full-time with a full-time assistant in Vernon (smallish city that has a lot of the social, shopping and cultural amenities I was missing in SA having spent my last few years in larger cities like Ottawa, London & Kitchener-Waterloo).

This is a big opportunity for me, partly because a new branch is being built in Vernon and while the architecture and big plans are done I may have influence in how the children’s & teen public space and youth workroom are laid out and set up. So excited! Plus I have lots of ideas about how to incorporate more programs for older kids and teens into a library that I think has been excelling with toddlers and preschoolers while striving to maintain a high level of service for these littlest of  library users. Being full-time and having my fabulous children’s assistant to help will make it easier for my big ideas to come to fruition. Of course having way more schools to visit, more community partners, a larger physical space to manage and what not will take up more time too, so I’m going to have to pace myself at first and find a rhythm…all that to say I’m super excited about my new position!

So moving jobs has also meant moving from a dank decrepit basement apartment where I smelled and heard everything the neighbours did to a wonderful new condo with a little more space, a lot less cracks in the walls and amazing closets. Packing, unpacking and the actual move have been my obsession the last couple of weeks so it’s nice to have that overwith and live in a much prettier, more practical space. In setting up my new place my boyfriend and my parents teased me relentlessly at my “librarianess”.

You see I may be a scattered slob when it comes to dishes, laundry and you know domestic stuff but I’m anal about having certain things organized my way. My books are obviously a big part of this and I think I’ve rejiggered their set up 5 times since I moved in last week. I got some more shelves since space allowed and now I have more room to categorize. It’s not just the books though, movies are broken down into genres on my movie shelf (comedy, paranormal, fantasy, science fiction, action, tv series on DVD, Disney and animated), board games sorted (strategy, party, word games, trivia, puzzles) and my clothes into what I thought were pretty logical categories but they laughed at.

In the next month scheduled into my busy schedule of work, dance class (scary I know, I can’t even walk straight without tripping over my own feet), work outs (to balance out all the cupcake recipe books I’ve been reading…) and exploring of my new community is a lot of reading and blogging. I’ll be reading at least 5 books for my book award jury duty (reviews saved for after the jury makes a decision) and I intend to review Forever by Maggie Stiefvater, Ascendent by Diana Peterfreund, Spirit Wolf by Landon Colvin, and The Girl Who Was On Fire.

So anyway, I know I’ve been slacking in my blogging but I will be back!

One thought on “Winners and Rambles…

Leave a Reply

