The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

*I received The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin for free from Simon & Schuster Canada

I really enjoyed this book, even though I wasn’t thrilled about how it ended. I can’t believe it’s a debut novel!  Hodkin writes suspense really well, and left me eager for clues to Mara’s past.

Mara herself was a great character. Her mental instability, conflicted feelings about boys and loyalty to her family were portrayed
beautifully. I especially enjoyed her struggle with being diagnosed as mentally ill.

The dialogue between Mara and Jamie was more compelling for me than that between her and Noah. It was blunt, sarcastic and fresh.  Hodkin did a fantastic job at describing the roguish appeal of the bad-boy archetype, and I have no doubt many fan girls will fall for him.

This book is great for anyone who likes a combination of suspense and romance.

*Spoiler Alert* *Spoiler Alert* *Spoiler Alert* *Spoiler Alert*

I think that it would have been more successful for me and a brave move
in the current book market to leave out the supernatural part. I think
the book would stay with me longer if there were no supernatural powers.
I think if she had suspected powers and discovered it was madness it
would have been a sharper ending. That’s just me though and the real
ending was acceptable.

Leave a Reply

