Clockwork Angel

*this review will be brief because I have a migraine and can’t stand to look at the screen but I like to write about books the day I finish them because of my terrible memory.

I’m on a Cassandra Clare binge the past couple of weeks, reading the first three Mortal Instruments books and now the first installment of the Infernal Devices

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1)

 “The handsome young fellow who’s trying to rescue you from a hideous fate is never wrong. Not even if he says the sky is purple and made of hedgehogs” (40)

I thought Clare did a good job at shifting from contemporary New York sensibilities to the London of 1878 . The speech, gender roles and views of foreigners were well done for the time period. 

Although it’s Jem’s conflicting opinion with the prevalent views of the time that endears him to me;

“Whatever the color, the shape, the design of the shade that conceals it, the flame inside the lamp remains the sam. You are that flame.” (283)

Will was a bit too much like Jace for my taste, but I was very fond of Jem, Charlotte, and Henry. Tessa’s powers were impressive and provide interesting potential for sequels, but I feel like she’s less fleshed out than the other characters. I often have a problem with heroes of the story (I think Frodo and Harry get way too much credit for what their “sidekicks” accomplish) so maybe I’m just bias against her.

I really liked Sophie’s observation about how the more beautiful the appearance of a bug or snake- the more poisonous.  I think this will definitely be something that comes back to us in this series.

The steampunky aestectics intreague me and I’d like to learn more about Tessa’s clockwork angel and what the magister has planned!

Leave a Reply

