City of Ashes

City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments, #2)City of Ashes was an excellent sequel to City of Bones. Cassandra Clare’s writing has a tone and personality to it that makes me feel like we’d get along great. Theres a sarcasm and darkness that is somehow light as a feather, flowing beautifully. The action is steady and the characters interesting.

What really draws me in though is the structure of the world, the hierarchies and prejudices. I’ve been thinking a lot about what MMO  (massive multiplayer online role playing game) I want to get into, and yesterday I made the argument to my boyfriend that Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments would make a fantastic game.  You could be a shadowhunter, vampire, werewolf, warlock, fay or mundane. There’s so much potential there, especially with the potential for designing runes if you were a character like Clary. If such a game is ever made, I will definitely check it out.

*spoiler alert if you haven’t read City of Bones

The one major thing that bothered me about this book is that it’s marketed as sexy but the major “love story” is between characters who believe themselves to be siblings. I’m pretty confident that Jace will turn out not to be the Jonathan they believe he is, but the situation is just icky. Any sexual tension just makes me feel awkward, witnessing incest isn’t my cup of tea (not that I like tea…).

I’m already halfway through City of Glass, so I’ll be posting about that soon.

One thought on “City of Ashes

Leave a Reply

