City of Bones

I was fortunate enough to get City of Bones at a library book sale for criminally cheap.

I can see why Cassandra Clare and Holly Black are friends (or at least seem like they are, I don’t know them personally – unfortunately!) because they have the same wonderful dark, sarcastic humour. The tone of their books are similar, with that edgy-funny feel to an action/adventure story with magic.

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)The dialogue (especially in the first half) felt incredibly real; unlike the last couple of books I’ve been reading. These were more believable young characters in a fantasy than the characters in realistic fiction. I love that, when the magic and mythology doesn’t take away from the humanity of characters.

The mythology of this series is certainly ambitious. So intricate! I don’t think I would want to take on so many types of supernatural beings in one novel, I’d spend half the time on exposition and bore the reader. Clare never bored me though, she wove the world around the story seamlessly. I had a hard time putting the book down, because I was so immersed in the world.

This is a series I’ve been meaning to read for what seems like ages, and part of me regrets waiting so long to discover it’s level of awesome- but another part of me is glad because YIPEE I already own the next book and have the 3rd waiting for me at the library. That’s the beauty of being a latecomer to a book, you don’t have a long wait for sequels.

I didn’t like the last fourth of the book nearly as much as the beginning. This was largely because I predicted what would happen and was disappointed to be right. I wanted so badly to be wrong about a certain plot twist!! I find it to be icky and reminiscent of the worst part about Star Wars (which I love anyway) and a lot of soap operas. However, the plot twist I’m not a fan of was handled very nicely, and I’m still eager to dig into City of Ashes.

2 thoughts on “City of Bones

Leave a Reply

