Top 10 Tuesday

Top 10 Tuesday is hosted by the Broke & The Bookish

This week’s theme: Top Ten Books I Just HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Bookshelf

  • 1984: I’m pretty sure I know the whole story for this one. It’s been discussed in so many of my classes and paid homage to in so many books I love. I think I’ve taken this long to read it because I figure it can’t possibly live up to the hype. I want to LOVE it, to feel all the pieces of conversations click into place, and I’m afraid that won’t happen. I’m pretty embarrassed I haven’t read this yet.
  • Catch 22: Another classic everyone refers to. I don’t know why I have been putting it off.
  • Jane Eyre: I actually read a book from another character’s perspective in the same story (Wide Sargasso Sea) for school, and Jane Eyre wasn’t a requirement but I felt it would give me a better foundation to understand the book as a feminist revision. I bought this the same time as Wuthering Heights and I hated that so much I changed my mind about reading Jane Eyre. Now that I’ve seen the trailers for the new movie version my interest is renewed, and I plan to pick it up.
  • Dracula: I’ve been crazy about vampires since waaaay before they sparkled. One of my favourite films is Interview With A Vampire and I adore Angel (I watched it before Buffy, and like it’s darker, edgier, out of highschool quality better) so I thought reading this classic take on vampires would be awesome. I read one chapter and forgot the book at my parents house when I went back to Waterloo (where I was living at the time) and never retrieved it.
  • Zombies vs. Unicorns: I was excited for this before it came out. I love the trailer for it. I’m a huge Holly Black fan and I was upset my library didn’t have this anthology. I bought it thinking it would be the first thing I’d read when it came in the mail, but then I got some ARCs and books that work with challenges, and I just haven’t gotten to it.  I will soon!
  • The complete works of Emily Dickinson: My writer’s craft teacher said my poetry reminded him of her writing. He said I could be the next Dickenson. I was totally flattered and I ran out and bought the book. I was afraid if I read it I’d discover I hated her writing, or that I would love it and accidentally mimic her style and lose my own. I haven’t written a poem in almost 3 years so I think maybe it’s time to read this and be inspired to start writing again. I really loved that writer’s craft class, I think it’s the first time I really expressed myself and I was so thrilled to get such positive feedback just by spilling out my guts on paper. It was the only class in high school that allowed me to be creative and my teacher was such an eccentric dark guy that I didn’t feel like I had to censor myself, and didn’t.  
  • Tales of the Otherworld: I love Kelley Armstrong’s Darkest Powers series and I bought this book to get signed when she visited Coles in London.  She’s fantastic, I don’t know why I haven’t gotten to this.
  • City of Bones: actually this hasn’t been on the shelf long, but I’ve been meaning to get it forever. Other things I want more keep popping up and it get’s pushed down the list.
  • Wicked Lovely: I got this book wet at the beach and I don’t like the way it looks now, so I’ve been discouraged from reading it. Silly, I know.
  • Warped: Will get to this one soon.

What’s been collecting dust on your shelf? Will you read it?

6 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday

  1. I am attempting to “read” the classics by listening to them on audiobooks. So far I have listened to Wuthering Heights, Huck Finn, Lord of the Flies, 1984, and I’m listening to Brave New World now. It works for me to over come by “fear” of getting started in those books. Perhaps Jane Eyre…

    _Anne

Leave a Reply

