Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. This week the topic is book to movie adaptations. Rather than list my 10 favourites, I’m going to talk about my favourites, some that are ok and some that are just terrible.

My faves

  • The Lord of the Rings Trilogy:  I found the books to be a bit dull, overly wordy, dry and difficult to read despite the fact that I loved the overall story and characters. I adore the movies, so much in fact that I had pictures of Aragorn and Legolas plastered all over my locker in high school (I’m that cool). I got to see the 1st movie the day before it came out with my English class and the fantastic landscapes and awesome costumes made the transition to the big screen phenomenal
  • The Harry Potter series: This is another world that translates well to the screen. Rowling creates a very visual world that works well in films, and I liked most of the casting.
  • 10 Things I Hate About You is a pretty loose adaptation of Taming of the Shrew but I love the movie and find the play offensive, so kudos on the rewrite.

 OKs

  • Blade Runner: Loosely based on Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep, this film is pretty good but not fantastic. I love Harrison Ford, and it’s an interesting plot. I wrote an essay (they keep cutting out my work cited for some reason?) on it, and after watching it the 10 times to write it, I’m sick of it.
  • The Time Travellers Wife: I felt a much stronger connection to the characters, and felt more chemistry in the book than the movie. The movie was ok, but not as horrifying (the sad and disturbing miscarriages) or as satisfying. I wanted a bit more, but it’s not terrible.
  • The Twilight Series: I strongly prefer the books, because I like the easy flow of Meyer’s writing, it feels more like genuine conversation and stream of consciousness than the choppy dialogue of the films. I know this will get me flack but I’m not a fan of Robert Pattinson. He’s not at all how I pictured Edward, he doesn’t do the graceful walk right, and he barely emotes. I think this was a book that was primarily Bella’s inner dialogue, you were Bella as you read, so to see her distances you from the story. Also the vampires are supposed to be inhumanly beautiful and graceful, something Hollywood fails to pull off. They are a pretty cast and all, but meh. I consume the films like junk food, and they give me indigestion but I kinda like them anyway. I own them, so I really shouldn’t rag on the so much.
  • Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh: Love love loved the book (in grade 5) but the movie fell a bit short for me. It seemed more childish to me than how I imagined the story.
  • The Secret Life of Bees: don’t have strong feelings either way for this one. It was ok.

My Hates

  •  Johhny Mnemonic: the short story was creative, ground-breaking and insightful. The movie was fight seens, Keanu Reeves’ worse acting and I think overly objectified women (but it’s been a while since I watched it).
  • Watership Down: the book is EPIC, the film’s animation disturbs me, the voices grind at me like nails on a chalk board and it basically doesn’t do the masterpiece justice.
  • Legend of the Seeker: this is actually a TV series based on a glorious book Wizard’s First Rule. I was soooooo excited for this when I first heard of it. I was brutally disappointed. I had to stop watching after 3 episodes, because it deviated from every aspect of the plot that I enjoyed and portrayed characters I love in a very different light than the book.
  • Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The book made me laugh out loud, a lot. The movie didn’t once. It was less mature, and had a different tone. It emphasized Greg’s bully attitudes that I disliked in the books.

Looking Forward To

  •  
    • The Hunger Games
    • Winnie The Pooh
    • Tithe (rumoured)
    • Beastly (on my TBR list)
    • Uglies
    • City of Bones (on my TBR list)
    • Jane Eyre (on my TBR list)
    • If I Stay (on my TBR list)
    • The Hobbit
    • Incarceron

 

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Tehe. You jumped ahead 🙂 In the future we are doing worst book to movies, upcoming book to movies we can’t wait for, and..(even though you didn’t add this one) books that SHOULD be made into movies.

    Anywho. I’m totally with you on Time Traveler’s Wife being just ok. I really loved that book and was hoping the movie would be as amazing. Didn’t happen for me!

    Great list!

  2. I loved Harry Potter, both the books and the movies, and I forgot about 10 things! Loved that movie…

    I agree cant wait for The Hunger Games and The Hobbit, also looking forward to The Perks of Being a Wallflower, have you read it?

    Visit me anytime 🙂

  3. I’ve seen The Secret of NIMH, but I’ve never read Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH (although I bought it at my last library book sale). But the movie creeped me out as a child so I didn’t like watching it. Now that I’m older, I really might enjoy it more

  4. I like how you jumped ahead to what you are looking forward to. Good idea! I can’t wait for Hunger Games! I also loved HP and Lord of the Rings. I forgot about 10 Things I Hate About You–great choice! I loved that movie and how they adapted it. Great list!

  5. Watership Down would be one of the books on my best of the best books I’ve ever read…which means it would also be on my list of movies to not even try…Such an incredible story…I can’t even imagine it as a cartoon…booooo! :;)
    I did enjoy Mrs. Frisby though…but I can’t remember if I ever read the book…gonna have to check on that.

Leave a Reply

