Top Ten Characters I’d Name My Children After

Top 10 Tuesday is a feature hosted by the Broke and the Bookish, please see their blog to participate. This week’s topic is names for my hypothetical future children based on characters and literary figures. I’m adding a subcategory of names for pets, because I’ve thought about that a little more (it’ll be put to use first).

Children

  • Illyria is a place in Shakespearian plays, a name in Angel and an ancient civilization. I’ve been in love with this name since I was about 14, and I plan to name my first daughter this.
  • Aphreal from the Sapphire Rose. I just love that name, and she was a child goddess.
  • Lyra from the Golden Compass. This will probably end up being a short form/nickname for Illyria.
  • Neville from Harry Potter. He was the sweet, adorable underdog, and I think the name suited him.
  • Cassel from White Cat, it’s a lot like Castiel from the show Supernatural. Can you tell I like unusual names? Mine is way too common.
  • Gryphon from the Gryphon Project. I like that he went by Gryph
  • Phoenix (Phe) from the Gryphon Project
  • Arwen from the Lord of the Rings, she’s not one of my favourite characters but elvish names rock
  • Tristan from Tristan and Isolde
  • Christabel from Possesion, she was a poet
  • 

Pets

  • Gratch from Wizard’s First Rule (I actually have a stuffed dragon I call Gratch)
  • Polgara from the Belgariad and Polagara the Sorceress by David Eddings. I would name a black cat with a white ear or blotch on her face Pol.
  • Belgarath from the Belgariad and Belgarath the Sorcerer by David Eddings. I would name a husky puppy this because of his tendency to turn into a wolf.
  • Haymitch from the Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. He’s awesome.
  • Finnick from the Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. He’s an interesting character.
  • Anackin (I added the c). The son of Han and Lea in a lot of Star Wars extended universe novels.
  • Zedd from Wizard’s First Rule. A scrawny wizard, that I think I would name a grey cat after.
  • Ophelia from Hamlet
  • Sherlock after Sherlock Holmes
  • Doyle author of Sherlock Holmes
6 thoughts on “Top Ten Characters I’d Name My Children After

  1. Oh my gosh-we totally named our puppy Zedd! Full name Zeddicus Albus Zul’Thompson of course! And if we ever have a girl, her name will most likely be Kahlan (also from Wizard’s First Rule). I wish there were more names in Harry Potter I liked for my real kids names. I too like unique names-Sarah is way too common!

  2. My husband and I had that discussion. He says it’s like Kayla with an N so the end is like LAN where I sometimes say it like LYNN. I have to train myself better I guess. Plus, if we do ever use it, everyone will call her Collin because that’s what it looks like it should sound like.

Leave a Reply

