2011 Non-Fiction Challenge

I’m really jumping on the challenge bandwagon this year, because I think it’s a great motivator. Not only does it motivate my reading of books, but it gets me to see what others are reading.

The Broke and The Bookish blog is hosting a cool Non-Fiction challenge that gets you to explore multiple categories of non-fiction.

  • Culture
  • Art
  • Food
  • Medical
  • Travel
  • Memoir/Biography
  • Money
  • Science/Nature
  • History

I’m going for the Master of Trivial Pursuit level (1-3 books from each category) because I very rarely read nonfiction. The only non-fiction books I recall really enjoying are Amusing Ourselves To Death, Homer Simpson Goes To Washington, and a number of books analysing Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Angel.

2 thoughts on “2011 Non-Fiction Challenge

  1. Glad you are joining in with us! I totally read Amusing Ourselves To Death for school..wasn’t it so interesting?

    Let me know if you need any good non-fiction recs! I’ve found a decent amount of non-fiction that reads like fiction and isn’t super scholarly!

    • Thanks Jamie,

      I read it for school too, and it sparked some great discussions.

      I thought I was going to have trouble finding nonfiction books but I just scrolled through the non-fiction for teens in my library’s catalogue and came up with a list of things I want to read. Working on the ref desk I get a lot of parents looking for books about puberty or sex for teens so I think I might read a bunch of them and make a big post where I compare them.

Leave a Reply

