Diary of A Wimpy Kid: The Ugly Truth

The ugly truth about Diary of A Wimpy Kid 5 is that I still don’t like the main character. He’s mean to his friends and family and I think he’s more of a jerk than a wimp.

What I loved about the book despite my misgivings about Greg:

  • I laughed out loud at a lot of the crazy cartoons (the careers that require facial hair was priceless)
  • It deals with the pressures of social media. He sees everyone else posting pictures showing their active social lives and he feels the need to fake his own to fit in
  • I talks about the problem of being a late or early bloomer, the embarrassment of not going through puberty at the same rate as everyone else

It was a funny, quick read and I think it will be popular with middle school boys but I hope that they get that Greg’s behaviour is a what not to do guide to middle school because the way Greg treats Rowley is really terrible.

Leave a Reply

