Lingering feelings for Sam

I eagerly awaited getting Linger by Maggie Stiefvater from the library (there were a lot of holds) after really enjoying Shiver . I can’t say it filled the big shoes of its predecessor.

At first I found the 4 perspectives to be too much. I just wanted Sam and Grace, and Isabel and Cole were getting in the way of where I expected the story to go. As the book went on I was grateful to have Cole’s storyline happening because not enough was happening in the Sam and Grace one.

There was a section in the book where it seemed all the narrators were just saying “Grace is sick, I suspect it has to do with the wolves” in their own way, and I was getting bored with it. I felt like her illness was dragged out longer than it needed to be. To be fair I have been really sick this week and the last thing I felt like reading about was someone being sick, it only made me hyper-aware of my own problems.

Cole’s guilt about his mistakes with Victor, Isabelle’s guilt over her brother’s death and Sam’s confrontation with his past were all interesting but depressing. I was glad to see Grace finally express herself to her parents, but I don’t think she handled it very well.

The only thing that kept me really into the book was Sam, or rather the way Stiefvater writes in Sam’s POV. I love the lyrics he writes, the poetic way he speaks, and the way he somehow seems innocent and jaded at the same time. I found Grace’s chapters dry but Sam’s were so full of life that I kept reading looking forward to the snippets of lyrics. I wish the book came with a soundtrack.

Overall I was a bit disappointed, but there were parts I liked and I enjoyed the ending.

One thought on “Lingering feelings for Sam

Leave a Reply

