Fallen

cover art of fallenThe novel Fallen,by Lauren Kate fell a bit short for me. It had potential, that I am hoping will be realized in the sequel Torment.

How it’s advertised

Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic, Fallen is a page-turning thriller and the ultimate love story.

Why I picked it up:

  • the show Supernatural peaked my interest in fallen angels
  • I am hosting an angel themed Teen Tuesday and wanted books to discuss
  • The cover art

The Cover Art

Gorgeous cover! I love the gothic look. I love that she is covering her face, because it lets the reader fill in what Luce looks like. Her gloves and dress are beautiful, I want an excuse to wear an outfit like that. The wisps of her hair blending in with the tree branches looks awesome. I like the font of the title, and I like that the title is emphasized more than the author. Kudos to Angela Carlino for a fantastic design.

The Characters

I didn’t feel as connected to Luce as I could have. She has such a tragic, confusing past that there was potential for a deeper sympathy but I always felt distanced from her. I usually prefer 1st person narratives because seeing what they are thinking and how they are feeling without an outside narrator describing it feels more real for me, so this may not be Kate’s fault, simply a matter of personal preference. If you look for books where you are so sucked in you forget that you are reading and the characters don’t exist, this will not satisfy you; I didn’t become the main character or want to be in her life. 

Cam was charming, and Daniel mysterious so I can see why she is infatuated with them both. I didn’t think there was enough for her to fall in love yet though, and I hate when infatuation is passed off as love.

Penn was the most developed character, and I liked her better than Luce. She was strange, flawed, and more real to me than the rest of the characters in the book.

Plot

It started off strong, and regained momentum in the last two chapters. The middle dragged for me, with not much happening besides a bit of deja vu and mooning over the boys. I think the book could have been about 150 pages shorter and been more effective. I have a few books on the go at the moment, and I wanted to finish this one first because of my angel book discussion at work but I found myself wishing I could go read The Resistance, which is a lot more groundbreaking in my opinion.

Angels

It took a long time for angels to become a recognized part of the story, and I wanted to learn more about the different kinds of angels, why they fell, what it means to fall and all of the mythology that must be behind Lauren Kate’s work. That’s what I wanted from the book, but it was rushed over at the end, with not much revealed to Luce or to the reader. The shadows Luce sees are elaborated on but not explained to my satisfaction, and I hope this is one of the first things that Torment deals with.

My thoughts

It feels like the meat of the story hasn’t been reached, and this is a big prologue for the real story.

One thought on “Fallen

Leave a Reply

