Heat Wave was Lukewarm

I mentioned a while ago that I was excited to find Heat Wave by Richard Castle, which is a ghostwriter throwback to the show Castle starring Nathan Fillion.

I just read it and I have mixed feelings. It wasn’t bad considering it is a bit of a gimmick. The plot was decent, the characters similar to those on the show, and a few twists. It was enjoyable, but really not much more than a mediocre episode of Castle.

I think Richard Castle the character would have more interesting word-plays and a more sophisticated use of language. The book didn’t have Castle’s humour, and felt a bit bland. Not terrible but I can’t rave.

Leave a Reply

