CLA-Where is the YA???

I recently applied for a membership to the Canadian Library Association and on the application where it asks for interest groups I selected Young Adult Services (big surprise I know haha) and was very upset this week to get an e-mail thanking me for joining but asking me to select a new interest group because the YA one no longer exists!

There are teens everywhere and there should be youth services in libraries everywhere, so why aren’t there enough librarians writing about them to keep up a CLA interest group? Children’s materials and services are overlooked as well. Right now as a student member I do not have enough pull to change these oversights but once I become a more active member of the library community as a youth services librarian I plan to pull some of my colleagues together and create a support system for teen and children’s librarians across Canada.

Who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

